Massachusetts Forensic League



League Information

The Massachusetts Forensic League (MFL) was founded back in 1958 and recently celebrated its fiftieth year as a provider of speech and debate competition for the state of Massachusetts. The goal of the MFL is to promote the interest in learning more about speech and to offer competition in speech and debate events. The league has members from several high schools in Massachusetts and a few from other areas of New England.

Key Officers 

President: Joyce Albert of Natick HS and Greg Cunningham of Catholic Memorial HS

Vice President/Secretary: Lisa Honeyman of Newton South HS and Patrice Jean-Baptiste of Milton Academny

Chair of Speech: Susan Marianelli of Milton Academy and Chris Palmer of Newton South HS

Chair of Debate: Sara Sanchez of Lexington HS and Dan Sapir Sacred Heart HS

Chair of Congress: Paul Wexler of Needham HS

Events Offered 

Children’s Literature, Declamation, Dramatic Performance, Duo Interp, Extemp, Group Discussion, Impromptu, Multiple, Novice Extemp, Novice Reading, Oratory, Play Reading, Poetry, Prose, Radio, Student Congress

Events MFL Debate Tournaments: Novice LD, Novice Policy, Public Forum, Varsity LD, Varsity Policy

2009 Finalists 

Although no specific 2009 results are listed, a Hall of Fame dating from 2000 exists:

2000: Gerald Dyer (Natick) Inductee Primarius

2001: Dale DeLetis (Milton Academy), Richard P. Gaudette (Natick), Leonard C. Gobeil (Barnstable), Richard R. Warren (Barnstable), Sr. John Francis Danko (Sacred Heart), Sr. Paul Marie Sohl (Sacred Heart)

2002: Elizabeth "Betty" Rowe (Shrewsbury), Margaret McElroy (Hingham), Eleanor McBreen (Watertown), Dorothy Churchill (Shrewsbury), Freeman Frank (Melrose), Peter Kinney (Holyoke)

2003: Gracia Burkhill (David Prouty), Br. Anthony Cavet (Catholic Memorial), Kathleen "Kitty" Viscardi (Shrewsbury)

2004: Timothy Averill (Manchester Essex), Sr. Virginia Maria Duross (Holyoke Catholic)

2005: Deborah Simon (Milton Academy)

2006: Will Crocker (Silver Lake & Falmouth Academy)

2007: Joyce Albert (Natick), William Seymour (Acton-Boxborough)

2008: Jim Murphy (Hampshire Regional & Weston), Marc Rischitelli (Shrewsbury)