Texas Forensic Association



League Information

The mission behind the Texas Forensic Association (TFA) is to provide competition in drama, debate, and speech for all students who want to, while meeting qualifications. The TFA is one of the largest leagues in the nation, with nearly 1,000 qualifications. The TFL goals include bettering the cooperation between the members of forensics and theatre arts to better fulfill their responsibilities to their craft, to educate all of the benefits of the arts, and to uphold the standards of theatre and art professions. Fellowship and high expectations of all involved in the TFL are vital.

Key Officers 

President: Karen Wilbanks

Vice President: Robert Shepard

Secretary: Raul Ruiz

Treasurer: David Gardiner

Archivist: Sammy Green

IQT Coordinator: Alicia Dunson

Region 1 Representative: Carol Hildebrand

Region 2 Representative: Diane Forbes

Region 3 Representative: Erin Stage

Region 4 Representative: Adam Woodward

Region 5 Representative: Yolanda Silva

Events Offered 

Extemporaneous Speaking (Foreign and Domestic), Original Oratory, Humorous Interpretation, Dramatic Interpretation, Duet Acting, Duo Interpretation, Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Public Forum Debate, Cross-Examination, and Student Congress

2009 Finalists 

Original Oratory

Morgan Booksh (McNeil High School)

United States Extemporaneous Speaking

Nick Cugini (Cypress Ridge High School)

Foreign Extemporaneous Speaking

Kate Mozynski (Coppell High School)

Dramatic Interpretation

Lawryn LaCroix (Creekview High School) 

Humorous Interpretation

Brett Gray (Cypress Ridge High School)

Duet Acting

Andrew Asper and Jennifer Tate (Reagan High School)

Duo Interpretation

Patrick McDonald and Kathrine Daugherty (Mansfield High School)

Lincoln-Douglass Debate

Devin Race (Westlake High School)

Top Speaker: Devin Race (Westlake High School)

Cross-Examination Debate

David Mullins and John Baker (Westlake High School)

Top Speaker: Steven Murray (Westwood High School)

Public Forum Debate

Shreya Balhara and Hamsika Chandrasekar (Clements High School)

Top Speakers: Cody Orr and Raven McGuane (Lamar Consolidated)


Sachin Shah (Plano Senior High School)


Doha Hussein (Hanks High School) 

Super House

Louise Lu (Bellaire High School)

Super Senate

Janus Pan (Liberal Arts and Sciences - LBJ High School)


Plano Senior High School

Lanny Naeglin Traveling Trophy

Bellaire High School